Ellenberg honored with Schmidt Award for Excellence in Science Communications

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine announced the inaugural recipients of the Eric and Wendy Schmidt Awards for Excellence in Science Communication, given by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine in partnership with Schmidt Futures. Supported by Schmidt Futures, these prestigious awards recognize science journalists and research scientists who have developed creative, original work that addresses issues and advances in science, engineering, and/or medicine for the general public.

Jordan Ellenberg was honored as part of the mid to late Research Scientist group.

A total of 24 awards were announced — 12 awards for best science communication by research scientists and 12 awards for science journalists, split among six categories. In each of the categories, one $40,000 top prize and three $20,000 awards will be given, totaling $600,000.

The winners will be honored during a recognition event and workshop on Nov. 11 and 12 in Washington, D.C.

Link:  https://www.nationalacademies.org/news/2022/10/national-academies-announce-inaugural-recipients-of-eric-and-wendy-schmidt-awards-for-excellence-in-science-communications