Parvarthi Kooloth awarded AWM dissertation prize

Our recently-graduated PhD student Parvathi Kooloth has won one of the two AWM Dissertation Prizes, which will be presented at the JMM.  Parvathi did her PhD under Leslie Smith’s supervision.

Congratulations, Parvathi!


The Association for Women in Mathematics is pleased to announce that the 2024 AWM Dissertation Prizes will be presented to Abigail Hickok and Parvathi M. Kooloth on Wednesday, January 3, 2024 at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in San Francisco. Full Citations and responses from the prize winners are posted at: A press release is attached and can be found here:

The AWM Dissertation Prize was established in 2016, an annual award recognizing exceptional work in a dissertation defended in the last 24 months. The award is intended to be based entirely on the dissertation itself, not on other work of the individual.  Learn more at